2024 Upcoming Fairs

Events are pay on gate unless otherwise stated

Click or tap for full event details:


Sat 15 June Sugnall Walled Garden Eccleshall ST21 6NF


Sun 23 June Middleton Hall Tamworth B78 2AE Tickets On Sale


Sun 30 June Whittington Castle Oswestry SY11 4DF


Sat 6 July Thoresby Park Newark NG22 9EP


Sun 28 July 1620s House Donington Le Heath LE67 2FW Tickets On Sale


Wed 31 July Cholmondeley Castle Gardens Malpas SY14 8ET


Sun 4 August Southwell Minster NG25 0HD


Sun 11 August Capesthorne Hall Macclesfield SK11 9JY


Sun 18 August Carsington Water Ashbourne DE6 1ST


Sun - Mon 25 - 26 August Dorothy Clive Garden Market Drayton TF9 4EU


Sat 31 August Bodenham Arboretum Kidderminster DY11 5TB


Sun 1 September Ness Botanic Gardens Wirral CH64 4AY


Sun 8 September Weston Park Shifnal TF11 8LE Tickets On Sale


Past Events

Sun 17 March Southwell Minster NG25 0HD


Sat 23 March Sugnall Walled Garden Eccleshall ST21 6NF


Sun 24 March Arley Hall and Gardens Northwich CW9 6NA


Fri 29 March Whittington Castle Oswestry SY11 4DF


Sun - Mon 31 March - 1 April Dorothy Clive Garden Market Drayton TF9 4EU


Sat 6 April Bodenham Arboretum Kidderminster DY11 5TB


Sun 7 April Ness Botanic Gardens Wirral CH64 4AY


Sun 14 April Middleton Hall Tamworth B78 2AE


Wednesday 17 April Bramall Hall Bramhall SK7 3NX


Sun 21 April 1620s House Donington Le Heath LE67 2FW


Sat 27 April Chasewater Country Park WS8 7NL


Sun 28 April Cholmondeley Castle Gardens Malpas SY14 8ET


Sun - Mon 5 - 6 May Weston Park Shifnal TF11 8LE


Sat 11 May Battlefield 1403 Shrewsbury SY4 3DB


Sun 12 May Capesthorne Hall Macclesfield SK11 9JY


Sun 19 May Norton Priory Runcorn WA7 1SX


Sat 25 May Carsington Water Ashbourne DE6 1ST


Mon 27 May Arley Arboretum Upper Arley Worcs DY12 1SQ


Sat - Sun 8 - 9 June Hodnet Hall Gardens Market Drayton TF9 3NN


Battlefield 1403

Shrewsbury SY4 3DB

Saturday 11 May 2024

Times: 10am - 4pm

Admission: Plant Fair: Free Entry

Parking: Free

Refreshments: Sparrow’s Café, which is licensed, is open for both indoor and outdoor dining.

The fair is wheelchair accessible although partially on gravel.

Dogs on leads welcome in the fair

Today Battlefield 1403 is a bustling farm shop, butchery, deli, cafe and exhibition, but over 600 years ago this was the site of one the bloodiest battles fought on British soil. After visiting the plant fair and shop at Battlefield 1403, take a walk around the boundary of the 100-hectare battlefield. The Battle of Shrewsbury was fought between King Henry IV and a rebellious faction led by the Percy family in 1403. The significance of the battle lies not just in its political ramifications as precursor to the Wars of the Roses but also in the fact that it was the first time that the English longbow was used on both sides.  Battlefield Church is said to have been erected over the site of the mass burial pit dug immediately after the battle. Now looked after by The Churches Conservation Trust, it provides an opportunity for quiet reflection.

The Battle of Shrewsbury exhibition explains the facts as we know them and introduces additional fun facts for children. Exhibits on display include a full armoured "Sir Nicholas", various weaponry, a longbow archer and other medieval artifacts.

What makes the farm shop, deli and Sparrow's Cafe so special is the celebration of low food miles, only buying British and that means no lemons or grapes in sight, fresh seasonal products with full traceability. The cafe cooks fresh daily with local ingredients, serving loyal visitors that return time and time again. The staff are passionate and that shines through from advice given from the team of butchers, to the staff in the farm shop being able to tell you where the vegetables were grown. The cafe cooks up a storm daily using local produce sourced from the estate and local producers.

Line-up for Sat 11 May Battlefield 1403

A Love Blossoms Garden accessories, stakes, planters, garden wall decorations etc. NEW

Bridge Farm Plants Interesting and unusual herbaceous perennials

ChickenStreet A good selection of grasses and herbaceous perennials for naturalistic plantings

Conquest Plants Nursery Variegated and coloured foliage hardy plants

Di’s Glassworks and Smithy Handamde plant supports and other artworks from iron and glass NEW

Green's Leaves Choice shrubs, perennials, grasses, foliage plants.

Heartsease Plants Herbaceous perennials and bulbs, especially shade tolerant plants

John Cullen Gardens Herbs, National Collection of Achillea, RHS Medalists NEW

Meadowmakers Wildflower and native tree plants and plugs

Pottertons Nursery Alpines, Dwarf Bulbs and Woodland Plants RHS Gold Medalists

SpecialPerennials Perennials for a nature friendly garden.

The Gobbett Nursery Shrubs, perennials inc Iris, Cornus, Syringa in season. RHS Medalists

Upper Battlefield, Shrewsbury SY4 3DB

Located just off the A49 at Hall's roundabout just north of Shrewsbury

website: www.battlefield1403.com

There is free car parking.

Dogs on leads welcome in the plant fair

 

All images and text © Plant Hunters Fairs 2008-2024 (unless copyright otherwise indicated)