2024 Upcoming Fairs

Events are pay on gate unless otherwise stated

Click or tap for full event details:


Sat 15 June Sugnall Walled Garden Eccleshall ST21 6NF


Sun 23 June Middleton Hall Tamworth B78 2AE Tickets On Sale


Sun 30 June Whittington Castle Oswestry SY11 4DF


Sat 6 July Thoresby Park Newark NG22 9EP


Sun 28 July 1620s House Donington Le Heath LE67 2FW Tickets On Sale


Wed 31 July Cholmondeley Castle Gardens Malpas SY14 8ET


Sun 4 August Southwell Minster NG25 0HD


Sun 11 August Capesthorne Hall Macclesfield SK11 9JY


Sun 18 August Carsington Water Ashbourne DE6 1ST


Sun - Mon 25 - 26 August Dorothy Clive Garden Market Drayton TF9 4EU


Sat 31 August Bodenham Arboretum Kidderminster DY11 5TB


Sun 1 September Ness Botanic Gardens Wirral CH64 4AY


Sun 8 September Weston Park Shifnal TF11 8LE Tickets On Sale


Past Events

Sun 17 March Southwell Minster NG25 0HD


Sat 23 March Sugnall Walled Garden Eccleshall ST21 6NF


Sun 24 March Arley Hall and Gardens Northwich CW9 6NA


Fri 29 March Whittington Castle Oswestry SY11 4DF


Sun - Mon 31 March - 1 April Dorothy Clive Garden Market Drayton TF9 4EU


Sat 6 April Bodenham Arboretum Kidderminster DY11 5TB


Sun 7 April Ness Botanic Gardens Wirral CH64 4AY


Sun 14 April Middleton Hall Tamworth B78 2AE


Wednesday 17 April Bramall Hall Bramhall SK7 3NX


Sun 21 April 1620s House Donington Le Heath LE67 2FW


Sat 27 April Chasewater Country Park WS8 7NL


Sun 28 April Cholmondeley Castle Gardens Malpas SY14 8ET


Sun - Mon 5 - 6 May Weston Park Shifnal TF11 8LE


Sat 11 May Battlefield 1403 Shrewsbury SY4 3DB


Sun 12 May Capesthorne Hall Macclesfield SK11 9JY


Sun 19 May Norton Priory Runcorn WA7 1SX


Sat 25 May Carsington Water Ashbourne DE6 1ST


Mon 27 May Arley Arboretum Upper Arley Worcs DY12 1SQ


Sat - Sun 8 - 9 June Hodnet Hall Gardens Market Drayton TF9 3NN


Norton Priory

Runcorn WA7 1SX

Sunday 19 May 2024

Times: 10am - 4pm

Admission: Plant Fair only: £1.00 - pay on the gate.

Special Offer for pre-booked ticket only, Combined entry to Garden, Museum and Fair: £7.50 Buy Tickets

You may pay on the gate for just the plant fair. Combined tickets purchased on the day will be charged at normal admission prices

Parking: Free

Refreshments: Brooke Café open, teas, coffees and cake available within the fair.

The fair is wheelchair accessible. Please check with the venue for information on the gardens and museum.

Dogs on leads welcome (except inside the cafe, outdoor seating available)

Norton Priory Gardens is a fantastic day out, with excavated medieval ruins, the spectacular St Christopher statue, the lovely Walled Garden and the extensive woodland and sculpture trail.

A separate charge applies if you want to enter the garden. Whole site entry (gardens and museum) tickets are also available.

The 2 acre Walled Garden was built between 1757 and 1770 for the Brooke family, the owners of Norton Priory. When the Brookes left Norton Priory, it became neglected and overgrown, until work began in 1980 by Runcorn Development Corporation to reclaim it.

The garden was featured on BBC TV's "Hidden Gardens" series with Chris Beardshaw.

The Walled Garden has been recreated as a typical Georgian Walled Garden. It was essentially a kitchen garden, and would have been the source of fruit, vegetables and flowers for the mansion house. Today there is an orchard, a fruit garden, a vegetable garden, various ornamental borders and the beautiful Rose Walk.

Norton Priory is home of the National Collection of Tree Quince (Cydonia Oblonga). These are dotted around the garden and the site and include 20 different varieties. The Walled Garden is also the location of a number of Norton Priory's "hidden gems", including the Ha Ha Wall, the Ice House and the Wildflower Meadow.

Line-up for Sun 19 May Norton Priory

A Love Blossoms Garden accessories, stakes, planters, garden wall decorations etc.

Arrowsmith Woodwork Garden swing seats, frame games and chopping boards NEW

Bridge Farm Plants Interesting and unusual herbaceous perennials

Conquest Plants Nursery Variegated and coloured foliage hardy plants

DJA Plants Cactus, succulents, house and garden plants

Hooksgreen Herbs Flowering and foliage herbs. RHS Medalists

John Cullen Gardens Plants for pollinators, National Collection of Achillea, RHS Medalists

Meadowmakers Wildflower and native tree plants and plugs

Ox Eye Daisy Country style plants and quirky garden gifts

Penmere Plants Hardy, half-hardy and species Fuchsia.

Pottertons Nursery Alpines, Dwarf Bulbs and Woodland Plants RHS Gold Medalists

Primrose Bank Wide range of perennial plants. RHS Gold Medalists

Priorswood Clematis Clematis. RHS Medalists NEW

Rebecca Christian with her scientific illustrations made into beautiful products NEW

SpecialPerennials Perennials for a nature friendly garden.

Stonyford Cottage Nursery Moist and shade loving plants, some Exotics and Alpines including Sempervivums.

Stuart Marsh Sculptures Copper and Brass Sculptures

The Gobbett Nursery Shrubs, perennials inc Iris, Cornus, Syringa in season. RHS Medalists

Norton Priory is less than 30 minutes by car from Chester, Liverpool and Manchester. From M56, Junction 11, turn for Warrington and follow the Norton Priory signs. From all other directions follow the "All other Runcorn Traffic" and then the Norton Priory signs.

The Norton Priory Museum Trust. 
Norton Priory Museum & Gardens, 
Tudor Road, Manor Park, 
Runcorn, 
Cheshire 
WA7 1SX.

For SATNAV please use WA7 1BD and search Norton Priory Walled Garden.

website: www.nortonpriory.org

All images and text © Plant Hunters Fairs 2008-2024 (unless copyright otherwise indicated)